Honour Board

Life Members

There have been over the years, members who have given so much of their time and effort for the club. In recognition of their efforts, these members have been made Life Members of Coffs Harbour Garden Club. This privilege has not been treated lightly by the Club, and only people who have worked tirelessly for at least 10 years contributing significantly in that time to the successful operation and promotion of the Clubs’ events and activities, have been successfully nominated for Life Membership.
The following people have carried out this level of service, as well as exemplifying our motto of ‘Friendship through gardens’ and been awarded Life Membership of the Club:
  • Adele and Don Patterson – 1993
  • Rhona Brookes – 2001
  • Helen Dengate – 2005
  • Jack Lawson – 2006
  • Pat Roser OAM – 2006
  • Jeffery Burgoyne – 2008
  • Maria Bell – 2021

Ann Williams Clark Medallion

Who was Ann Williams Clark?

The late Ann Williams Clark had a pivotal role in the Garden Clubs of Australia for many years. During the seventies and eighties she was GCA president three times and vice president three times and also became a life member of Garden Clubs of Australia.

Ann participated through the Zone Coordinator network  in the formation of clubs as well as visiting outlying clubs to have direct contact with members and to provide advice.

The Ann Williams Clark Award criteria is listed below:
  • have shown their service in years and activities by serving on the committee, arranging tours, arranging social activities
  • have been an all-round helper with club activities, eg inspiring fellow members as a gardener, assisting with club activities;
  • have promoted the club in the community; writing club newsletter or mentoring members;
  • have shown friendship, goodwill and sharing of knowledge towards members and the community
  • be an overall contributor to the club, community and/or Garden Clubs of Australia
Coffs Harbour Garden Club recipients:
  • Peter Kimber 2011
  • Myles Roser 2013
  • Maria Bell 2017
  • Patricia Roser 2019
  • Simon Young 2020
Coffs Harbour Garden Club only nominates those members who have totally fulfilled the criteria for the award, thus ensuring it remains prestigious. Hence, this is the reason there have not been many recipients since the Award’s inception.